Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License

ILLINOIS TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS FOR SUSPENDED OR REVOKED DRIVER’S LICENSE HOLDERS – PEORIA LAWYERS WHO PROTECT YOUR INTERESTS AND LIVELIHOOD

IMG_0038_2It is a privilege to operate a motor vehicle on publicly maintained roadways in Illinois.  When you sign for your driver’s license, you impliedly agree to abide by the laws of Illinois.  If you receive too many traffic violation convictions on your driving record or if you are arrested and convicted of any offense that leads to an automatic suspension or revocation of your driving privileges, you will need an experienced attorney to 1) protect your driving record from lengthy suspensions or revocations and 2) advise you how (and when) you can reinstated your driving privileges.

At Hall, Rustom & Fritz LLC, it is our goal to provide our clients with the highest quality legal advice available while remaining professional throughout the entirety of our clients’ cases.  In Illinois, many drivers lose the ability to drive due a DUI, too many traffic convictions, or failing to pay child support.  This will affect your ability to provide for yourself, your family, and it may affect your ability to maintain employment.   Our legislators in Springfield are all far too eager to use your driving privileges as a way to make you comply with State law.

Remember, if they (our legislators) can suspend your driving privileges, they usually will.   It is our duty to answer our clients’ questions in a timely manner, make our clients’ court appearances quicker and less stressful, and advise our clients as to the law to the best of our ability.

RESPONSIVE, CAPABLE AND ATTENTIVE LEGAL ADVICE.  PEORIA LAWYERS WHO CARE ABOUT THE RESULTS WE OBTAIN FOR OUR CLIENTS.  WE MAKE OUR CASES PERSONAL.     DRIVING ON A SUSPENDED OR REVOKED DRIVER’S (DWLS/R) LICENSE IN ILLINOIS:

Driving on a Suspended or Revoked Driver’s License:  Illinois Statute:  625 ILCS 5/6-303

If you are ticketed or arrested for DWLS/R in Illinois, you should speak to an experienced traffic attorney that knows how to properly advise you through the process while protecting your freedom and future driving privileges.

If you are 21 years or older and you receive 3 or more moving violation convictions in a 12 month period, your driving privileges will be suspended for no less than 60 days, depending on the severity of the traffic violations.

Each time you pay your tickets “over the counter” at your local circuit clerk’s office, a conviction enters on your driving record and it is then reported to Springfield at the Secretary of State’s Office (SOS).  After your 2nd conviction in a 12 month period, the SOS will send you a courtesy letter notifying you not to receive another conviction in a 12 month period.  You should heed their warning.  If you receive this letter, you should contact attorneys at Hall, Rustom & Fritz LLC.  Our experienced traffic attorneys may be able to “undo” one of those previous convictions and renegotiate the case, potentially clearing one of those convictions from your record.  This is definitely worth it and is highly advisable.   Further, if one of those convictions is for a serious traffic offense, such as speeding 26 mph and above over the speed limit, your suspension period will likely be longer because more “points” will be assigned to your record.  The more serious the offense, the higher the points, the longer the suspension.

Penalties As stated above, three convictions for traffic violations within a 12-month period can result in the revocation or suspension of your driving privilege. How long this revocation or suspension lasts depends on the number of points you have accumulated against your license.

First-Time Suspension If you have not had your license suspended or revoked for the past seven years, these penalties apply:

  • 0 to 14 points―no action
  • 15 to 44 points―2-month suspension
  • 45 to 74 points―3-month suspension
  • 75 to 89 points―6-month suspension
  • 90 to 99 points―9-month suspension
  • 100 to 109 points―12-month suspension
  • 110 or more points―12-month revocation

Repeat Offenders If your license has been suspended or revoked in the past seven years, the penalties this time around are harsher:

  • 0 to 14 points―no action
  • 15 to 44 points―4-month suspension
  • 45 to 74 points―6-month suspension
  • 75 to 109 points―12-month suspension
  • 110 or more points―12-month revocation

If you are 20 years of age or younger, and you receive 2 moving violation convictions in a 24 month period, your driving privileges will be suspended for no less than 3 months, depending on the severity of the traffic violations. If you are convicted of DWLS/R, your suspension or reinstatement period will be extended by the amount of time you were originally suspended/revoked.

  1. Example:  If you have a suspension for a violation of underage drinking and you receive court supervision when you plead guilty for that offense, your driving privileges will be suspended for 3 months (on your first offense).  If you subsequently drive during your suspension and the police arrest you for it and you are ultimately convicted of DWLS, your suspension will be extended for an additional 3 months, leading to a 6 month total suspension.

DWLS/R IS A CLASS A MISDEMEANOR ON YOUR FIRST OFFENSE, PUNISHABLE UP TO 364 DAYS IN JAIL OR 2 YEARS PROBATION AND A MAXIMUM $2500 FINE.

  1. Example:  If you are arrested for DWLS/R, if you appear in court unrepresented, the judge will instruct you this is a “jailable” offense.  If you are indigent (poor), the judge will “screen” you to see if you qualify for the public defender.  While public defenders are good, capable attorneys, their case load is usually triple that of private attorneys.  A private attorney will likely give more attention to your individual case because his/her case load isn’t as large.
  2. If the judge says you are not qualified for the public defender to represent you (you make too much money or have too many assets), the judge will likely set your case over for an attorney appearance.  It is during this time you should think strongly in favor of hiring private counsel.
  3. If it is your first time being arrested for DWLS/R, and your underlying suspension/revocation is non-DUI related, then prosecutors may be inclined to offer to settle your case with a non-conviction (court supervision).  This is akin to an acquittal according to appellate courts in Illinois. This type of deal is the best option short of a dismissal by the prosecution; however, you are not guaranteed to be offered court supervision. That is why it is in your best interests to consult an experienced traffic attorney to represent you and make sure you are advised throughout the entire process.
  4. Example:  Any person convicted of a third or subsequent violation of DWLS/R, when the underlying suspension/revocation is for a non-DUI related offense, shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days or 300 hours of community service, as determined by the court.  625 ILCS 5/6-303 (d-1).

Simply put:  If this is your 3rd or subsequent violation, it’s either 300 public service hours or 30 actual days in jail.

IF YOU ARE SUSPENDED OR REVOKED FOR DUI, MOST PROSECUTORS REQUEST YOU BE SENTENCED TO JAIL TIME – EVEN ON YOUR FIRST OFFENSE.

  1. Example:  If you are arrested for DWLS/R and your underlying suspension/revocation is due to a DUI suspension or revocation, most prosecutors ask for 20 days in jail (day for day credit so you’ll serve 10 actual days in jail), and they ask the judge to convict you thereby extending your suspension or revocation on your driving record.  You will need an experienced traffic attorney to advise you throughout the process.
  2. If it is your 2nd offense for DWLS/R and your underlying suspension/revocation is due to a DUI suspension or revocation, it is a FELONY ELIGIBLE offense and you could be a convicted felon at the end of the case.  It is VERY important you hire an attorney to protect you if you are charged with this offense and it is your 2nd violation. 625 ILCS 5/6-303(d)
  3. If it is your 3rd or subsequent offense for DWLS/R and your underlying suspension/revocation is due to DUI suspension or revocation, it is a FELONY ELIGIBLE offense (Class 4) with a mandatory minimum of 30 actual days in jail and a conviction to enter on your driving record as well as a felony conviction entering on your criminal record.  625 ILCS 5/6-303 (d-2).

Below is the exact statute governing DWLS/R violations in Illinois:   (625 ILCS 5/6-303) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-303)   (Text of Section from P.A. 98-285)

Sec. 6-303. Driving while driver’s license, permit or privilege to operate a motor vehicle is suspended or revoked.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (a-5), any person who drives or is in actual physical control of a motor vehicle on any highway of this State at a time when such person’s driver’s license, permit or privilege to do so or the privilege to obtain a driver’s license or permit is revoked or suspended as provided by this Code or the law of another state, except as may be specifically allowed by a judicial driving permit issued prior to January 1, 2009, monitoring device driving permit, family financial responsibility driving permit, probationary license to drive, or a restricted driving permit issued pursuant to this Code or under the law of another state, shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.

(a-3) A second or subsequent violation of subsection (a) of this Section is a Class 4 felony if committed by a person whose driving or operation of a motor vehicle is the proximate cause of a motor vehicle accident that causes personal injury or death to another. For purposes of this subsection, a personal injury includes any Type A injury as indicated on the traffic accident report completed by a law enforcement officer that requires immediate professional attention in either a doctor’s office or a medical facility. A Type A injury includes severe bleeding wounds, distorted extremities, and injuries that require the injured party to be carried from the scene.

(a-5) Any person who violates this Section as provided in subsection (a) while his or her driver’s license, permit or privilege is revoked because of a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide or a similar provision of a law of another state, is guilty of a Class 4 felony. The person shall be required to undergo a professional evaluation, as provided in Section 11-501 of this Code, to determine if an alcohol, drug, or intoxicating compound problem exists and the extent of the problem, and to undergo the imposition of treatment as appropriate. (b) (Blank). (b-1) Upon receiving a report of the conviction of any violation indicating a person was operating a motor vehicle during the time when the person’s driver’s license, permit or privilege was suspended by the Secretary of State or the driver’s licensing administrator of another state, except as specifically allowed by a probationary license, judicial driving permit, restricted driving permit or monitoring device driving permit the Secretary shall extend the suspension for the same period of time as the originally imposed suspension unless the suspension has already expired, in which case the Secretary shall be authorized to suspend the person’s driving privileges for the same period of time as the originally imposed suspension.

(b-2) Except as provided in subsection (b-6), upon receiving a report of the conviction of any violation indicating a person was operating a motor vehicle when the person’s driver’s license, permit or privilege was revoked by the Secretary of State or the driver’s license administrator of any other state, except as specifically allowed by a restricted driving permit issued pursuant to this Code or the law of another state, the Secretary shall not issue a driver’s license for an additional period of one year from the date of such conviction indicating such person was operating a vehicle during such period of revocation. (b-3) (Blank).

(b-4) When the Secretary of State receives a report of a conviction of any violation indicating a person was operating a motor vehicle that was not equipped with an ignition interlock device during a time when the person was prohibited from operating a motor vehicle not equipped with such a device, the Secretary shall not issue a driver’s license to that person for an additional period of one year from the date of the conviction.

(b-5) Any person convicted of violating this Section shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 consecutive days or 300 hours of community service when the person’s driving privilege was revoked or suspended as a result of a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar provision of a law of another state.

(b-6) Upon receiving a report of a first conviction of operating a motor vehicle while the person’s driver’s license, permit or privilege was revoked where the revocation was for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless homicide or a similar out-of-state offense, the Secretary shall not issue a driver’s license for an additional period of three years from the date of such conviction.

(c) Except as provided in subsections (c-3) and (c-4), any person convicted of violating this Section shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 10 consecutive days or 30 days of community service when the person’s driving privilege was revoked or suspended as a result of: (1) a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance relating to the offense of operating or being in physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, any other drug or any combination thereof; or (2) a violation of paragraph (b) of Section 11-401 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance relating to the offense of leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident involving personal injury or death; or (3) a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code. Such sentence of imprisonment or community service shall not be subject to suspension in order to reduce such sentence.

(c-1) Except as provided in subsections (c-5) and (d), any person convicted of a second violation of this Section shall be ordered by the court to serve a minimum of 100 hours of community service.

(c-2) In addition to other penalties imposed under this Section, the court may impose on any person convicted a fourth time of violating this Section any of the following: (1) Seizure of the license plates of the person’s vehicle. (2) Immobilization of the person’s vehicle for a period of time to be determined by the court.

(c-3) Any person convicted of a violation of this Section during a period of summary suspension imposed pursuant to Section 11-501.1 when the person was eligible for a MDDP shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days.

(c-4) Any person who has been issued a MDDP and who is convicted of a violation of this Section as a result of operating or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle not equipped with an ignition interlock device at the time of the offense shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days.

(c-5) Any person convicted of a second violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 2 felony, is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, and shall serve a mandatory term of imprisonment, if the revocation or suspension was for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense. (d) Any person convicted of a second violation of this Section shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days or 300 hours of community service, as determined by the court, if the original revocation or suspension was for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.

(d-1) Except as provided in subsections (d-2), (d-2.5), and (d-3), any person convicted of a third or subsequent violation of this Section shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days or 300 hours of community service, as determined by the court.

(d-2) Any person convicted of a third violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 4 felony and must serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days if the revocation or suspension was for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.

(d-2.5) Any person convicted of a third violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 1 felony, is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, and must serve a mandatory term of imprisonment if the revocation or suspension was for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense. The person’s driving privileges shall be revoked for the remainder of the person’s life.

(d-3) Any person convicted of a fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, or ninth violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 4 felony and must serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 180 days if the revocation or suspension was for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.

(d-3.5) Any person convicted of a fourth or subsequent violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 1 felony, is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, and must serve a mandatory term of imprisonment, and is eligible for an extended term, if the revocation or suspension was for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense.

(d-4) Any person convicted of a tenth, eleventh, twelfth, thirteenth, or fourteenth violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 3 felony, and is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, if the revocation or suspension was for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.

(d-5) Any person convicted of a fifteenth or subsequent violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 2 felony, and is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, if the revocation or suspension was for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.

(e) Any person in violation of this Section who is also in violation of Section 7-601 of this Code relating to mandatory insurance requirements, in addition to other penalties imposed under this Section, shall have his or her motor vehicle immediately impounded by the arresting law enforcement officer. The motor vehicle may be released to any licensed driver upon a showing of proof of insurance for the vehicle that was impounded and the notarized written consent for the release by the vehicle owner.

(f) For any prosecution under this Section, a certified copy of the driving abstract of the defendant shall be admitted as proof of any prior conviction.

(g) The motor vehicle used in a violation of this Section is subject to seizure and forfeiture as provided in Sections 36-1 and 36-2 of the Criminal Code of 2012 if the person’s driving privilege was revoked or suspended as a result of:

(1) a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a similar provision of a law of another state;

(2) a violation of paragraph (b) of Section 11-401 of this Code, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a similar provision of a law of another state;

(3) a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code or a similar provision of a law of another state; or (4) a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar provision of a law of another state. (Source: P.A. 97-984, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-285, eff. 1-1-14.)   (Text of Section from P.A. 98-418) Sec. 6-303.

Driving while driver’s license, permit or privilege to operate a motor vehicle is suspended or revoked.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (a-5), any person who drives or is in actual physical control of a motor vehicle on any highway of this State at a time when such person’s driver’s license, permit or privilege to do so or the privilege to obtain a driver’s license or permit is revoked or suspended as provided by this Code or the law of another state, except as may be specifically allowed by a judicial driving permit issued prior to January 1, 2009, monitoring device driving permit, family financial responsibility driving permit, probationary license to drive, or a restricted driving permit issued pursuant to this Code or under the law of another state, shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.

(a-5) Any person who violates this Section as provided in subsection (a) while his or her driver’s license, permit or privilege is revoked because of a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide or a similar provision of a law of another state, is guilty of a Class 4 felony. The person shall be required to undergo a professional evaluation, as provided in Section 11-501 of this Code, to determine if an alcohol, drug, or intoxicating compound problem exists and the extent of the problem, and to undergo the imposition of treatment as appropriate.

(a-10) A person’s driver’s license, permit, or privilege to obtain a driver’s license or permit may be subject to multiple revocations, multiple suspensions, or any combination of both simultaneously. No revocation or suspension shall serve to negate, invalidate, cancel, postpone, or in any way lessen the effect of any other revocation or suspension entered prior or subsequent to any other revocation or suspension.

(b) (Blank). (b-1) Upon receiving a report of the conviction of any violation indicating a person was operating a motor vehicle during the time when the person’s driver’s license, permit or privilege was suspended by the Secretary of State or the driver’s licensing administrator of another state, except as specifically allowed by a probationary license, judicial driving permit, restricted driving permit or monitoring device driving permit the Secretary shall extend the suspension for the same period of time as the originally imposed suspension unless the suspension has already expired, in which case the Secretary shall be authorized to suspend the person’s driving privileges for the same period of time as the originally imposed suspension.

(b-2) Except as provided in subsection (b-6), upon receiving a report of the conviction of any violation indicating a person was operating a motor vehicle when the person’s driver’s license, permit or privilege was revoked by the Secretary of State or the driver’s license administrator of any other state, except as specifically allowed by a restricted driving permit issued pursuant to this Code or the law of another state, the Secretary shall not issue a driver’s license for an additional period of one year from the date of such conviction indicating such person was operating a vehicle during such period of revocation.

(b-3) (Blank). (b-4) When the Secretary of State receives a report of a conviction of any violation indicating a person was operating a motor vehicle that was not equipped with an ignition interlock device during a time when the person was prohibited from operating a motor vehicle not equipped with such a device, the Secretary shall not issue a driver’s license to that person for an additional period of one year from the date of the conviction.

(b-5) Any person convicted of violating this Section shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 consecutive days or 300 hours of community service when the person’s driving privilege was revoked or suspended as a result of a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar provision of a law of another state.

(b-6) Upon receiving a report of a first conviction of operating a motor vehicle while the person’s driver’s license, permit or privilege was revoked where the revocation was for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless homicide or a similar out-of-state offense, the Secretary shall not issue a driver’s license for an additional period of three years from the date of such conviction.

(c) Except as provided in subsections (c-3) and (c-4), any person convicted of violating this Section shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 10 consecutive days or 30 days of community service when the person’s driving privilege was revoked or suspended as a result of:

(1) a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance relating to the offense of operating or being in physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, any other drug or any combination thereof; or (2) a violation of paragraph (b) of Section 11-401 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance relating to the offense of leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident involving personal injury or death; or (3) a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code. Such sentence of imprisonment or community service shall not be subject to suspension in order to reduce such sentence.

(c-1) Except as provided in subsections (c-5) and (d), any person convicted of a second violation of this Section shall be ordered by the court to serve a minimum of 100 hours of community service.

(c-2) In addition to other penalties imposed under this Section, the court may impose on any person convicted a fourth time of violating this Section any of the following: (1) Seizure of the license plates of the person’s vehicle. (2) Immobilization of the person’s vehicle for a period of time to be determined by the court.

(c-3) Any person convicted of a violation of this Section during a period of summary suspension imposed pursuant to Section 11-501.1 when the person was eligible for a MDDP shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days.

(c-4) Any person who has been issued a MDDP and who is convicted of a violation of this Section as a result of operating or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle not equipped with an ignition interlock device at the time of the offense shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days.

(c-5) Any person convicted of a second violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 2 felony, is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, and shall serve a mandatory term of imprisonment, if: (1) the current violation occurred when the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense; and (2) the prior conviction under this Section occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense, or was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.

(d) Any person convicted of a second violation of this Section shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days or 300 hours of community service, as determined by the court, if: (1) the current violation occurred when the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and (2) the prior conviction under this Section occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense.

(d-1) Except as provided in subsections (d-2), (d-2.5), and (d-3), any person convicted of a third or subsequent violation of this Section shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days or 300 hours of community service, as determined by the court.

(d-2) Any person convicted of a third violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 4 felony and must serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days, if: (1) the current violation occurred when the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense.

(d-2.5) Any person convicted of a third violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 1 felony, is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, and must serve a mandatory term of imprisonment, if: (1) the current violation occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense. The person’s driving privileges shall be revoked for the remainder of the person’s life; and (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense, or was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.

(d-3) Any person convicted of a fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, or ninth violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 4 felony and must serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 180 days, if: (1) the current violation occurred when the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense.

(d-3.5) Any person convicted of a fourth or subsequent violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 1 felony, is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, and must serve a mandatory term of imprisonment, and is eligible for an extended term, if: (1) the current violation occurred when the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense; and (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense, or was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code.

(d-4) Any person convicted of a tenth, eleventh, twelfth, thirteenth, or fourteenth violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 3 felony, and is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, if: (1) the current violation occurred when the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense.

(d-5) Any person convicted of a fifteenth or subsequent violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 2 felony, and is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, if:

(1) the current violation occurred when the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and

(2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense.

(e) Any person in violation of this Section who is also in violation of Section 7-601 of this Code relating to mandatory insurance requirements, in addition to other penalties imposed under this Section, shall have his or her motor vehicle immediately impounded by the arresting law enforcement officer. The motor vehicle may be released to any licensed driver upon a showing of proof of insurance for the vehicle that was impounded and the notarized written consent for the release by the vehicle owner.

(f) For any prosecution under this Section, a certified copy of the driving abstract of the defendant shall be admitted as proof of any prior conviction.

(g) The motor vehicle used in a violation of this Section is subject to seizure and forfeiture as provided in Sections 36-1 and 36-2 of the Criminal Code of 2012 if the person’s driving privilege was revoked or suspended as a result of: (1) a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a similar provision of a law of another state; (2) a violation of paragraph (b) of Section 11-401 of this Code, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a similar provision of a law of another state; (3) a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code or a similar provision of a law of another state; or (4) a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar provision of a law of another state. (Source: P.A. 97-984, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-418, eff. 8-16-13.)   (Text of Section from P.A. 98-573) Sec. 6-303.

Driving while driver’s license, permit or privilege to operate a motor vehicle is suspended or revoked. (a) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (a-5), any person who drives or is in actual physical control of a motor vehicle on any highway of this State at a time when such person’s driver’s license, permit or privilege to do so or the privilege to obtain a driver’s license or permit is revoked or suspended as provided by this Code or the law of another state, except as may be specifically allowed by a judicial driving permit issued prior to January 1, 2009, monitoring device driving permit, family financial responsibility driving permit, probationary license to drive, or a restricted driving permit issued pursuant to this Code or under the law of another state, shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. (a-5) Any person who violates this Section as provided in subsection (a) while his or her driver’s license, permit or privilege is revoked because of a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide or a similar provision of a law of another state, is guilty of a Class 4 felony. The person shall be required to undergo a professional evaluation, as provided in Section 11-501 of this Code, to determine if an alcohol, drug, or intoxicating compound problem exists and the extent of the problem, and to undergo the imposition of treatment as appropriate. (a-10) A person’s driver’s license, permit, or privilege to obtain a driver’s license or permit may be subject to multiple revocations, multiple suspensions, or any combination of both simultaneously. No revocation or suspension shall serve to negate, invalidate, cancel, postpone, or in any way lessen the effect of any other revocation or suspension entered prior or subsequent to any other revocation or suspension. (b) (Blank). (b-1) Upon receiving a report of the conviction of any violation indicating a person was operating a motor vehicle during the time when the person’s driver’s license, permit or privilege was suspended by the Secretary of State or the driver’s licensing administrator of another state, except as specifically allowed by a probationary license, judicial driving permit, restricted driving permit or monitoring device driving permit the Secretary shall extend the suspension for the same period of time as the originally imposed suspension unless the suspension has already expired, in which case the Secretary shall be authorized to suspend the person’s driving privileges for the same period of time as the originally imposed suspension. (b-2) Except as provided in subsection (b-6), upon receiving a report of the conviction of any violation indicating a person was operating a motor vehicle when the person’s driver’s license, permit or privilege was revoked by the Secretary of State or the driver’s license administrator of any other state, except as specifically allowed by a restricted driving permit issued pursuant to this Code or the law of another state, the Secretary shall not issue a driver’s license for an additional period of one year from the date of such conviction indicating such person was operating a vehicle during such period of revocation. (b-3) (Blank). (b-4) When the Secretary of State receives a report of a conviction of any violation indicating a person was operating a motor vehicle that was not equipped with an ignition interlock device during a time when the person was prohibited from operating a motor vehicle not equipped with such a device, the Secretary shall not issue a driver’s license to that person for an additional period of one year from the date of the conviction. (b-5) Any person convicted of violating this Section shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 consecutive days or 300 hours of community service when the person’s driving privilege was revoked or suspended as a result of a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar provision of a law of another state. (b-6) Upon receiving a report of a first conviction of operating a motor vehicle while the person’s driver’s license, permit or privilege was revoked where the revocation was for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless homicide or a similar out-of-state offense, the Secretary shall not issue a driver’s license for an additional period of three years from the date of such conviction. (c) Except as provided in subsections (c-3) and (c-4), any person convicted of violating this Section shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 10 consecutive days or 30 days of community service when the person’s driving privilege was revoked or suspended as a result of: (1) a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance relating to the offense of operating or being in physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, any other drug or any combination thereof; or (2) a violation of paragraph (b) of Section 11-401 of this Code or a similar provision of a local ordinance relating to the offense of leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident involving personal injury or death; or (3) a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code. Such sentence of imprisonment or community service shall not be subject to suspension in order to reduce such sentence. (c-1) Except as provided in subsections (c-5) and (d), any person convicted of a second violation of this Section shall be ordered by the court to serve a minimum of 100 hours of community service. (c-2) In addition to other penalties imposed under this Section, the court may impose on any person convicted a fourth time of violating this Section any of the following: (1) Seizure of the license plates of the person’s vehicle. (2) Immobilization of the person’s vehicle for a period of time to be determined by the court. (c-3) Any person convicted of a violation of this Section during a period of summary suspension imposed pursuant to Section 11-501.1 when the person was eligible for a MDDP shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days. (c-4) Any person who has been issued a MDDP and who is convicted of a violation of this Section as a result of operating or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle not equipped with an ignition interlock device at the time of the offense shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days. (c-5) Any person convicted of a second violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 2 felony, is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, and shall serve a mandatory term of imprisonment, if: (1) the current violation occurred when the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense; and (2) the prior conviction under this Section occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense, or was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code. (d) Any person convicted of a second violation of this Section shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony and shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days or 300 hours of community service, as determined by the court, if: (1) the current violation occurred when the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and (2) the prior conviction under this Section occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense. (d-1) Except as provided in subsections (d-2), (d-2.5), and (d-3), any person convicted of a third or subsequent violation of this Section shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days or 300 hours of community service, as determined by the court. (d-2) Any person convicted of a third violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 4 felony and must serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days, if: (1) the current violation occurred when the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense. (d-2.5) Any person convicted of a third violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 1 felony, is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, and must serve a mandatory term of imprisonment, if: (1) the current violation occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense. The person’s driving privileges shall be revoked for the remainder of the person’s life; and (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense, or was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code. (d-3) Any person convicted of a fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, or ninth violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 4 felony and must serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 180 days, if: (1) the current violation occurred when the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense. (d-3.5) Any person convicted of a fourth or subsequent violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 1 felony, is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, and must serve a mandatory term of imprisonment, and is eligible for an extended term, if: (1) the current violation occurred when the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense; and (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense, or was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code. (d-4) Any person convicted of a tenth, eleventh, twelfth, thirteenth, or fourteenth violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 3 felony, and is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, if: (1) the current violation occurred when the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense. (d-5) Any person convicted of a fifteenth or subsequent violation of this Section is guilty of a Class 2 felony, and is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge, if: (1) the current violation occurred when the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, or a similar out-of-state offense, or a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code; and (2) the prior convictions under this Section occurred while the person’s driver’s license was suspended or revoked for a violation of Section 11-401 or 11-501 of this Code, a similar out-of-state offense, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code, or for a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar out-of-state offense. (e) Any person in violation of this Section who is also in violation of Section 7-601 of this Code relating to mandatory insurance requirements, in addition to other penalties imposed under this Section, shall have his or her motor vehicle immediately impounded by the arresting law enforcement officer. The motor vehicle may be released to any licensed driver upon a showing of proof of insurance for the vehicle that was impounded and the notarized written consent for the release by the vehicle owner. (f) For any prosecution under this Section, a certified copy of the driving abstract of the defendant shall be admitted as proof of any prior conviction. (g) The motor vehicle used in a violation of this Section is subject to seizure and forfeiture as provided in Sections 36-1 and 36-2 of the Criminal Code of 2012 if the person’s driving privilege was revoked or suspended as a result of: (1) a violation of Section 11-501 of this Code, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a similar provision of a law of another state; (2) a violation of paragraph (b) of Section 11-401 of this Code, a similar provision of a local ordinance, or a similar provision of a law of another state; (3) a statutory summary suspension or revocation under Section 11-501.1 of this Code or a similar provision of a law of another state; or (4) a violation of Section 9-3 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 relating to the offense of reckless homicide, or a similar provision of a law of another state. (Source: P.A. 97-984, eff. 1-1-13; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-573, eff. 8-27-13.)     Illinois Administrative Code: Traffic Suspensions & Revocations 

CALL THE LAWYERS AT HALL, RUSTOM & FRITZ LLC TO GET LEGAL REPRESENTATION IF YOU ARE ARRESTED FOR DUI IN ILLINOIS SO WE CAN PROTECT YOUR INTERESTS.

We’re here to help you in your time of need.  Contact us today and schedule a free case evaluation.  You will receive experienced, hard-working, no-nonsense, affordable Peoria area CDL lawyers for your case.   Hall, Rustom & Fritz LLC – Concentrating in protecting our CDL clients.

HALL, RUSTOM & FRITZ LLC, 432 N MAIN ST., EAST PEORIA, IL 61611

The attorneys at Hall, Rustom & Fritz LLC represent clients throughout the entire state of Illinois, including, but not limited to, the cities of Peoria, Morton, Washington, Pekin, Eureka, East Peoria, Dunlap, Metamora, Bartonville, Bloomington, Normal and any legal matter located in Peoria County, Tazewell County, Woodford County, Marshall County, Stark County, Henry County, Knox County and McLean County.